ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting held on 10 September 2019

PRESENT: Councillor Margaret Murley Roberts (Chair)

Councillor Glyn Haynes (Vice-Chair)

Councillors Lewis Davies, R Dew, John Griffith, K P Hughes, Vaughan Hughes, Llinos Medi Huws, A M Jones, Carwyn Jones, G O Jones, R Ll Jones, R.Meirion Jones, Alun W Mummery,

R G Parry OBE FRAgS, Dylan Rees, Alun Roberts,

Dafydd Roberts, J A Roberts, Nicola Roberts, P S Rogers,

leuan Williams and Robin Williams.

IN ATTENDANCE: Chief Executive,

Deputy Chief Executive,

Director of Function (Resources)/Section 151 Officer,

Director of Education, Skills and Young People,

Director of Social Services,

Head of Function (Council Business)/Monitoring Officer,

Head of Children & Families, Head of Democratic Services,

Head of Human Resources & Transformation,

Committee Officer (MEH).

ALSO PRESENT: None

APOLOGIES: Councillor Richard Griffiths, T LI Hughes MBE, Eric Wyn Jones,

Richard Owain Jones, Bryan Owen, Shaun James Redmond and

Dafydd Rhys Thomas.

Island Games Presentation

A presentation was afforded to individuals whom had been successful at the Island Games in Gibraltar - Anglesey Women's Football Team and Anglesey's Men's Football Team together with individuals who were successful at the Island Games Gymnastics Competition held in the Isle of Man.

The Chair said that the Island Games Football Tournament was held on Anglesey in June and she thanked everyone across the Island in welcoming the teams from other countries and for all the hard work over many months to prepare for the tournament.

1. MINUTES

The minutes of the following meetings were confirmed as correct:-

14 May, 2019 (Ordinary Meeting)

- 14 May, 2019 (Annual Meeting)
- 15 July, 2019 (Extraordinary)
- 22 August, 2019 (Extraordinary)

2. DECLARATION OF INTEREST

None received.

3. TO RECEIVE ANY ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIRPERSON, THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL OR THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chair made the following announcements:-

- Congratulations to those from Anglesey who were successful at the Anglesey Show, the Royal Welsh Show and the National Eisteddfod;
- Congratulations to Sian Morgan, a Support Worker with the Council who has received the 'Caring in Welsh' award which was presented at the National Eisteddfod in Llanrwst:
- Congratulations to the pupils of the Island's Secondary Schools on their success in the GCSE's and A level exams. Best wishes was extended to the pupils who will be starting their college courses in due course;
- Congratulations was extended to Samantha Goad, the Sport Wales and Anglesey Young Ambassador on receiving the Diana Memorial Award which is awarded for outstanding achievements of young people;
- Congratulation to Councillor Robert LI Jones who has celebrated a special birthday recently.

Members requested that a letter be sent to Mr Albert Owen MP thanking him for his services as a Member of Parliament for Ynys Môn, Mr Owen will be not seeking re-election at the next Parliamentary Election.

The Chair announced that the Chair's Sunday Service will be held on 13th October, 2019 at Carmel Chapel, Moelfre.

Best wishes was extended to the newly appointed Director of Education, Skills and Young People, Mr Rhys H Hughes.

* * * *

The Chair referred that this will be the last meeting of the County Council for Dr Gwynne Jones as Chief Executive and wished him well on his retirement. She said that Dr Gwynne Jones is highly respected within Local Government across Wales and further afield and by Elected Members and Officers of the Council.

The Leader of the Council wished to thank Dr Gwynne Jones for the service he has given to the County Council and his commitment to the Authority over the last 4 years as Chief Executive.

Members of the Council also wished to thank Dr Gwynne Jones for his service to the Council and wished him well on his retirement.

Best wishes was extended to Mrs Annwen Morgan on her appointment as Chief Executive following the retirement of Dr Gwynne Jones.

4. PRESENTATION OF PETITIONS

The Chair said that there was one petition with 250 signatures from the residents of the village of Llanfechell opposing the loss of a School Patrol Officer – petition forwarded to the Head of Highways, Property and Waste.

5. STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTS AND ISA 260

Submitted – the following reports by the Director of Function (Resources)/Section 151 Officer as submitted to the Audit and Governance Committee on 3 September, 2019:-

- Statement of Accounts for 2018/19;
- External Auditor's report on the audit of the financial statements.

The Chair of the Audit Committee sought clarification as to whether the total of receipts received by the Council from the sale of surplus buildings are identified separately within the Accounts.

The Director of Function (Resources)/Section 151 Officer responded by noting that the capital receipts are detailed in a specific note within the Statement of Accounts (note 10). The balance of unused capital receipts as at 31 March 2019 was £1.18m and he reminded the Member that capital receipts can only be utilised to fund the creation of a fixed asset i.e. one which has an useful life of more than 12 months, or to reduce the Council's borrowing. Capital receipts cannot be used to fund revenue expenditure.

It was RESOLVED :-

- To accept the Statement of Accounts 2018/19 and authorise the Director of Function (Resources)/Section 151 Officer to sign the accounts;
- To note the acceptance of the Annual Governance Statement 2018/19 by the Audit and Governance and refer the document to the Leader of the Council and the Chief Executive for signature.

6. TO APPOINT FOUR CO-OPTED MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC AND ONE COUNTY COUNCILLOR TO THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Submitted – a report by the Chair of the Standards Committee Selection Panel.

It was RESOLVED :-

 To appoint Mr Thomas Rhys Davies, Mrs Celyn Menai Edwards, Mrs Gill Murgatroyd and Mrs Sharon Warnes as co-opted independent members of the Standards Committee from 20th December, 2019, for up to two terms as permitted by the statute and the Constitution;

- In the event that a further casual vacancy for an independent member of the Standards Committee arises during the next twelve months, to automatically appoint Mrs Pauline Vella to this role without need for a further recruitment process, provided always that Mrs Vella remain eligible for the role;
- To confirm that Councillor Dafydd Rhys Thomas remains as County Councillor representative until the next election in 2022;
- To appoint Councillor John Arwel Roberts as County Councillor representative on the Standards Committee, initially until the next election in 2022, with the potential to sit for a further term;
- To thank Councillor T LI Hughes MBE for his work as County Councillor representative on the Standards Committee;
- To confirm that the Head of Function (Council Business)/Monitoring
 Officer be given authority to include the Standards Committee Selection
 Panel in the Council's Constitution to avoid the ongoing need for 'saving
 provisions' in the committee structure report which is affirmed by the
 Council at its annual meetings.

7. ANNUAL REPORT OF THE STATUTORY DIRECTOR OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Submitted – a report by the Director of Social Services as presented to the Executive on 15 July, 2019.

It was RESOLVED to accept the report.

The meeting concluded at 2.40 pm

COUNCILLOR MARGARET M ROBERTS
CHAIR