ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the First Annual Meeting held on 23 May 2017

PRESENT:	Councillor Robert G Parry OBE FRAgS (Chair) Councillor Richard Owain Jones (Vice-Chair)
	Councillors Lewis Davies, R Dew, John Griffith, Richard Griffiths, Glyn Haynes, K P Hughes, T Ll Hughes MBE, Vaughan Hughes, Llinos Medi Huws, A M Jones, Carwyn Jones, Eric Wyn Jones, G O Jones, R Ll Jones, R.Meirion Jones, Alun W Mummery, Bryan Owen, Shaun James Redmond, Dylan Rees, Alun Roberts, Dafydd Roberts, J A Roberts, Margaret Murley Roberts, Nicola Roberts, P S Rogers, Dafydd Rhys Thomas, Ieuan Williams and Robin Williams
	Chief Executive, Assistant Chief Executive (Partnerships, Community & Service Improvements), Assistant Chief Executive (Governance and Business Process Transformation), Head of Function (Resources)/Section 151 Officer, Head of Function (Council Business)/Monitoring Officer, Head of Democratic Services, Committee Officer (MEH).
ALSO PRESENT:	None

APOLOGIES: None

1. CHAIRPERSON

RESOLVED that Councillor Richard O Jones be unanimously elected Chairperson of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for 2017/18.

In accepting the honour of being appointed, Councillor R O Jones assured the Council that he would endeavour to fulfil his duties as Chairperson to the best of his abilities. He thanked his predecessor Councillor Bob Parry OBE FRAgS for the honourable way in which he had carried out his civic duties of Chair of the County Council.

The outgoing Chairperson, Councillor Bob Parry OBE FRAgS, thanked all the Members and Officers for their support during his term of office and especially to the Democratic Services Department. Councillor Parry gave a summary of the highlights of his year as Chair of the County Council including raising £3,100 during the Charitable Evening held at the Breeze Hill Hotel, Benllech. The funds were distributed between Wales Air Ambulance and the Ynys Môn Carers Outreach.

2. VICE-CHAIRPERSON

It was RESOLVED that Councillor Dylan W. Rees be elected Vice-Chairperson of the County Council for 2017/18.

Councillor Dylan W. Rees thanked his fellow Members for the honour and said that he looked forward to working with the Chairperson and supporting him in his duties during the forthcoming year.

3. ANNOUNCEMENTS

None received.

4. DECLARATION OF INTEREST

None received.

5. CANDIDATE'S PRESENTATION IN SUPPORT OF HER NOMINATION TO BE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

In accordance with Paragraph 2.7.3.1 of the Constitution, having already submitted a written presentation (manifesto) to the Chief Executive before 5.00 p.m., on 11 May, 2017 (which has been supported in writing by two other Councillors to the Chief Executive), an oral presentation was given by Councillor Llinos Medi Huws on her vision and values.

6. TO APPOINT A LEADER OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL

It was RESOLVED unanimously that Councillor Llinos Medi Huws be elected Leader of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for a period of 5 years in accordance with Article 7 and in particular the rules of procedure contained under Paragraphs 2.7.3.1 and 2.7.3.2 of the Council's Constitution.

7. DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

The Leader of the Council informed the Council that she had appointed Councillor leuan Williams to serve as Deputy Leader. Councillor Williams indicated that he would not be accepting the senior salary for the post.

8. MEMBER REMUNERATION 2017/18

The report of the Head of Democratic Services on the scheme of Member Remuneration for 2017/18 was presented for consideration.

It was RESOLVED :-

- To confirm that the senior salaries should be payable to the following 14 office holders during 2017/18 :
 - Chair of the Council Vice-Chair of the Council Leader of the Council Deputy Leader of the Council Other Executive Members (5) Chair of the two Scrutiny Committees Chair of the Planning and Orders Committee Chair of the Audit and Governance Committee Leader of the Largest Opposition Group
- To approve the recommendation of the Democratic Services Committee at its meeting held on 29 March, 2017 with regard to the payment of senior salaries (as outlined in paragraph 2.11) and confirm the level of the payment of senior salaries during 2017/18 for :-

Executive Members Committee Chairs Civic Head and Deputy Civic Head

• To note other details of payments and allowances for 2017/18 as prescribed by the Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales as set out in the report.

9. CONFIRMATION OF COMMITTEES

The Chairperson confirmed the re-appointment of the Committee structure as referred to in Section 3.4 of the Council's Constitution, together with the following :-

- Pay and Grading Panel (a sub-committee of the County Council)
- Standards Committee Appointment Panel
- Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education
- Special Educational Needs Joint Committee
- Indemnities Sub-Committee

The meeting concluded at 2.45 pm

COUNCILLOR RICHARD O. JONES CHAIR