ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL

MEETING:	County Council
DATE:	10.09.2019
TITLE OF REPORT :	To appoint four co-opted members of the public and one County Councillor to the Standards Committee
REPORT BY :	Councillor Margaret M Roberts – Chair of the Standards Committee Selection Panel
CONTACT OFFICER :	Lynn Ball Head of Function (Council Business) / Monitoring Officer <u>Ibxcs@anglesey.gov.uk</u> 01248 752586
PURPOSE OF REPORT :	To ratify the recommendation of the Standards Committee Selection Panel in relation to the four co-opted members and to appoint a County Councillor

BACKGROUND

- 1. Under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000 (as amended by the Local Government Act 2006) the Council must have a Standards Committee consisting of no more than 9 members, the majority of whom must be independent members of the public.
- 2. The Standards Committee currently consists of 5 independent members, 2 community councillors and 2 county councillors.

APPOINTMENT OF FOUR INDEPENDENT MEMBERS TO THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

- 3. The term of four of the five current independent members of the Standards Committee ends on 19 December 2019. The four will have completed the statutory maximum of two terms. The fifth member, Mr John Robert Jones, was appointed in December 2017 and will continue in his role.
- 4. Statutory Regulations require that the independent members of the Standards Committee be appointed by Council, but only after compliance with a statutory selection process. To conduct this recruitment and selection process the County Council has delegated its authority to the Standards Committee Selection Panel; which consists of one independent member of the public, one representative from

among the town and community councillors and three county councillors. No member of the Selection Panel may also be a member of the Standards Committee.

- 5. In the meeting of the Standards Committee Selection Panel on the 11th April 2019, the Panel approved the recruitment process and the vacancy was advertised on the Council's website, Twitter, and Facebook (from 29.04.2019 until 17.05.2019), North Wales Chronicle (on 02.05.2019 and on 09.05.2019) and the Bangor and Anglesey Mail (on 01.05.2019 and on 08.05.2019).
- The advertisement closed on the 17th May 2019 and the applications received were considered by the Standards Committee Selection Panel in a shortlisting process which took place on the 21st June 2019. The Panel shortlisted 7 candidates for interview.
- 7. The interviews took place on the 29th and 30th July 2019, when the Panel agreed to nominate four individuals to be appointed to the role of independent members of the Standards Committee (in alphabetical order):

Mr Thomas Rhys Davies Mrs Celyn Menai Edwards Mrs Gill Murgatroyd Mrs Sharon Warnes

The decision was made based on the candidates' applications, scored interview questions, and references.

- 8. The Panel also decided that, in the event that a further casual vacancy for an independent member of the Standards Committee arises during the next twelve months, to automatically appoint **Mrs Pauline Vella** to this role without need for a further recruitment process, provided always that this candidate remains eligible for the role.
- 9. The Panel would like to take the opportunity to thank all applicants for taking the time to submit their applications and would like to particularly thank the candidates who attended for interview as the standard was high and all shortlisted candidates were appointable to the role's.

APPOINTMENT OF A COUNTY COUNCILLOR TO THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

- 10. Councillor Dafydd Rhys Thomas is eligible to continue in his role as a County Council Member of the Standards Committee until 2022.
- 11. Councillor Trefor Lloyd Hughes' is stepping down from his role as a County Councillor representative on the Standards Committee. The Council will therefore need to nominate a Councillor to take his place on the Standards Committee.
- 12. There are some statutory matters which must be noted when the decision is made as to whom should be nominated as County Councillor representative on the Standards Committee:

- 12.1 There is no need for political balance on the Standards Committee (owing to its largely independent composition).
- 12.2 The Leader cannot be nominated.
- 12.3 In light of the fact that one County Councillor representative on the Standards Committee is a member of the Executive, the second representative cannot also be a member of the Executive.

RECOMMENDATIONS

For Council:

13. To accept the recommendations of the Standards Committee Selection Panel as follows:-

- 13.1 To appoint **Mr Thomas Rhys Davies, Mrs Celyn Menai Edwards, Mrs Gill Murgatroyd** and **Mrs Sharon Warnes** as co-opted independent members of the Standards Committee from 20th December 2019; for up to two terms, as permitted by statute and the Constitution.
- 13.2 In the event that a further casual vacancy for an independent member of the Standards Committee arises during the next twelve months, to automatically appoint **Mrs Pauline Vella** to this role without need for a further recruitment process, provided always that Mrs Vella remains eligible for the role.
- 14. In relation to the County Council representatives on the Standards Committee:
 - 14.1 To confirm that **Councillor Dafydd Rhys Thomas** remains a County Councillor representative until the next election in 2022;
 - 14.2 To nominate another County Councillor to sit on the Standards Committee, initially until the next election in 2022, with the potential to sit for a further term.
- 15. To confirm that the Head of Function (Council Business) / Monitoring Officer be given authority to include the Standards Committee Selection Panel in the Council's Constitution to avoid the ongoing need for "saving provisions" in the committee structure report which is affirmed by Council at its annual meetings.