ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL	
MEETING:	County Council
DATE:	6 December 2022
TITLE OF REPORT :	To Appoint Two Community Councillors to the Standards Committee
REPORT BY :	Director of Function (Council Business) / Monitoring Officer
CONTACT OFFICER:	Lynn Ball Director of Function (Council Business) / Monitoring Officer bxcs@anglesey.gov.uk 01248 752586
PURPOSE OF REPORT :	To co-opt to the Standards Committee those collectively nominated by the Town and Community Councils

BACKGROUND

- Under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000 (as amended by the Local Government Act 2006) the Council must have a Standards Committee consisting of no more than 9 members, the majority of whom must be independent members of the public.
- 2. The Standards Committee currently consists of 5 independent members, 2 community councillors (both seats being vacant) and two county councillors (who are appointed annually by the Council).
- 3. Community council members must be collectively nominated by the community councils and their appointment ratified by Council.

COMMUNITY COUNCILLOR VACANCIES

- 4. The Standards Committee includes two community councillors, who participate in the general business of the Committee, but deal with referrals from the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales, and applications for dispensations, only when those matters relate to community councillors.
- 5. There is a requirement for the community council members to be collectively nominated by all the community councils after every local government election (or if either should cease to be a community councillor). Community council members are eligible for reappointment to the Standards Committee, subject to receiving a further collective nomination from the community councils.

CC-024082/00717635 Page 1

- 6. On 30 June 2022 the Monitoring Officer wrote to all town and community council clerks requesting nominations, by no later than 30 September 2022. A reminder was sent on 12 September 2022. By the closing date, 4 valid nominations had been received and on 6 October 2022 a postal ballot was issued to all town and community councils requesting that each select up to two candidates, returning the ballot paper to the Monitoring Officer by no later than 19 November 2022. By the 19 November 2022, 16 town/community councils had responded with 31 votes received. The process followed was verified by the Chair of the Standards Committee in a meeting on the 23rd of November 2022. The two successful candidates were:-
 - Councillor Margaret Ann Thomas of Llangefni Town / Community Council and
 - Councillor Iorwerth Roberts of Bryngwran Town / Community Council
- 7. In the circumstances, the County Council is now asked to please approve the appointment of these councillors, as co-opted members of the Standards Committee, until the next local government elections, or for as long as they remain community councillors; whichever occurs first.

RECOMMENDATION

In accordance with a collective decision of the town and community councils, to co-opt the following town / community councillors to the Standards Committee with immediate effect:-

- Councillor Margaret Ann Thomas of Llangefni Town / Community Council and
- Councillor lorwerth Roberts of Bryngwran Town / Community Council

until the next local government elections, or until such time as the appointees are no longer town/community council members; whichever shall occur first.

CC-024082/00717635 Page 2